Concealed Weapons Permit
To obtain a concealed weapons permit (concealed pistol license), you must meet all requirements established by Washington State law. The list is available on the Department of Licensing website.
The Concealed Pistol License application can be filled out at the Tumwater Police Department or found on the Department of Licensing website.
Tumwater Residents Only
Upon meeting all requirements outlined by state law, Tumwater residents can apply for a concealed weapons permit (concealed pistol license) at the Tumwater Police Department. To determine if your address is within the Tumwater city limits, visit the Thurston County GeoData Center website and conduct a “Parcel Search” on your street address.
To apply, you must bring:
- A valid, government-issued photo ID (or proof that you’ve lived in the state for at least the last 90 days), and
- Cash, check, credit card, or money order in the amount of $49.25, payable to City of Tumwater.
- Military members must bring their military ID and orders listing their current station location.
This fee is non-refundable.
Permit applications will be accepted Monday – Friday, 12 p.m. – 4 p.m., or by appointment. To make an appointment, please call 360-754-4200.
The police department conducts fingerprinting and initiates a background check. Processing time can take between 30 and 60 days.
Find answers to frequently asked questions about Concealed Pistol Licenses at the Washington State Department of Licensing website and find the full text of the Washington State law addressing concealed weapons on the Washington State Legislature website.